American Planning Association - Illinois Chapter

The 2014 Awards Program

American Planning Association - Illinois Chapter is pleased to announce the 2014 APA-IL Chapter Award winners. This year the chapter received 50 nominations for program awards and 5 nominations for individual awards. The following exceptional plans are being recognized:

Best Practices: Columbia Community Preservation Plan 2014, Columbia, Illinois

Community Outreach: Remediation and Redevelopment Project for La Huerta Roots & Rays,
Chicago, Illinois

Implementation: Ellis Heights Choice Neighborhoods, Rockford, Illinois

Strategic Plan: Moline Centred: Riverfront Neighborhoods Comprehensive Plan Update,
Moline, Illinois

Daniel Burnham Outstanding Comprehensive Plan: Imagine Belleville, Belleville, Illinois

Sustainability Plan: Champaign Growing Greener, Champaign, Illinois

Student Project Award: Post War Emergency Planning in Homs, Syria Malek Abdulsamad, University of Illinois Chicago

Distinguished Service Award: Phil Dick, AICP, McLean County

Planning Advocate Award: Gloria Crowder, Belleville, Illinois

Emerging Planner Award: Emily Fultz, AICP, LEED-GA, City of Belleville, Illinois

The Illinois Chapter commends the award winners and all of those that submitted plans.
These plans continue to demonstrate the outstanding planning occurring in all corners of our great state.

Thank you to this year's jury members: Lindy Wordlaw, AICP Greg Jones, AICP Vijay Gadde, AICP Jeff Marino, AICP Stacy Sigman John Oliphant, AICP Laurie Marston, FAICP Justin Randall, AICP Stacey Meekins, AICP Katie Bowman, AICP Nicole Woods, AICP and Janel Gomez.

An Awards Reception will be held at the 2014 APA-IL State Conference on Thursday, October 2nd. If you are an award winner, to RSVP to the Awards Reception, please email T.J. Blakeman, AICP, Vice President of the Illinois Chapter at  (


 If you have questions about the Award Program contact
, APA-IL Vice President.

Archive of past winners (1999 - 2013)
2013 Awards Presentation
2010 Awards Luncheon Presentation
2009 Awards Luncheon Program
2008 Awards Luncheon Program
2007 Awards Luncheon Program

Some documents on this page require Adobe Acrobat Reader software.
Problems with this page? E-mail the