top of page


The Illinois Chapter of the American Planning Association is proud to announce the 2015 Illinois State Planning Award Winners. These outstanding planning efforts from across the state exemplify the pracitce of urban planning and each stand as an example of ways our members are “Making Great Communities Happen”.

Best Practices

Tri County Fiscal Impact Calculator - Tri County Regional Planning Commission

Community Outreach

The Cairo Comprehensive Plan – The Cairo Public Utility


Near North Quality of Life Plan and Design Guidelines - Near North Unity Program & LISC Chicago

Strategic Plan

Wisconsin Avenue Business Corridor Plan: Rethinking Wisconsin Avenue – City of Peoria

Daniel Burnham Award for Outstanding Comprehensive Plan

Bring it On Bloomington: City of Bloomington Comprehensive Plan – McLean County Regional Planning Commission


Urbana Sustainable Water Management Plan – City of Urbana

Bristol Place LEED-ND Master Plan – City of Champaign

Student Project

Plaza and Urban Life – Pablo Penades Lopez & University of Illinois Chicago

Planning Advocate Award

Mr. Stan Cain - Former City of Bloomington Plan Commissioner

Award winners will be honored and the Distinguished Service Award will be announced at the APA-IL Chapter Awards Luncheon October 8, 2015 at the 2015 APA-IL State Conference in Normal, IL.

If you have questions about the Awards Program contact T.J. Blakeman, AICP, APA-IL Vice President, at

bottom of page