Induction to the College of Fellows is the highest honor the American Institute of Certified Planners bestows upon a member.

Fellow of AICP

Fellows of AICP are honored in recognition of the achievements of the planner as an individual, elevating the Fellow before the public and the profession as a model planner who has made significant contributions to planning and society. Fellowship is granted to planners who have been members of AICP and have achieved excellence in professional practice, teaching and mentoring, research, public and community service, and leadership. Those chosen become members of the College of Fellows.


The College of Fellows is concerned with mentoring and future advancement of the profession of planning. As outstanding professionals in the field of planning, Fellows of AICP will address student organizations, state APA conferences, and professional development programs.

2018 FAICP Members at Induction Ceremony during the 2018 National Planning Conference in New Orleans (photo courtesy Rob Kowalski, FAICP)


Illinois FAICP Members

2020 Mary Edwards, FAICP

2020 Mark Koplin, FAICP 

2020 Devin Lavigne, FAICP

2020 Arista Strungys, FAICP 

2018 Cassandra Francis, FAICP
2018 Scott Goldstein, FAICP

2018 John Houseal, FAICP  

2018 William Klein, FAICP 

​2018 Robert Kowalski, FAICP 

2018 Dudley Onderdonk, FAICP 
2018 John Paige, FAICP
2018 Cynthia Winland, FAICP 

2018 Ferhat Zerin, FAICP 

2016 Phil Hanegraaf, FAICP

2016 Ruth Knack, FAICP

2016 Marya Morris, FAICP

2016 James (Jim) Schwab, FAICP

2016 Robert (Bob) Sullivan, FAICP

2014 Laurie Marston, FAICP

2014 Jim Peters, FAICP

2014 Steve Friedman, FAICP

2014 Pattsi Petrie, FAICP

2012 Dr. Robert B. Olshansky, FAICP
2010 Cynthia Hoyle, FAICP
2008 Michael H. Blue, FAICP
2008 Dr. Elizabeth H. Tyler, FAICP
2006 Lee M. Brown, FAICP
2006 W. Paul Farmer, FAICP
2004 Charles C. Allen, FAICP (Deceased)
2004 Clyde W. Forrest, FAICP (Deceased)
2003 Bruce A. Knight, FAICP
2002 Fred P. Bosselman, FAICP (Deceased)
2002 Lewis D. Hopkins, FAICP
2002 Norbert (Pete) J. Pointner, FAICP
2002 Leslie S. Pollock, FAICP
2001 Albert Z. Guttenberg, FAICP (Deceased)
2000 Robert J. Piper, FAICP (Deceased)

1999 Philip D. Peters, FAICP (Deceased)

1999 Frank S. So, FAICP (Deceased)
1999 Robert B. Teska, FAICP